Foodie Funday #1 – Delicious Homemade Protein Bars

Welcome to the first Foodie Funday post! One of my favorite snacks to eat on the go or at work have been these delicious homemade protein bars.  I love this recipe because you can make so many different bars using the same base recipe and never get bored with the same old thing! Based on this recipe here. These protein bars keep really well in the freezer so I made two batches so I can stock up for a while. Just take one out, let it warm up for a minute and you are good to go!

You need:2014-06-08 14.23.12

1 1/2 cups of rolled oats
3 cups of mixed nuts and dried fruits (or just one or the other depending on what you like – I didn’t end up adding any dried fruit to these two batches)
1/3 cup maple syrup or honey (make sure you get the 100% pure goodness!)
1/4 cup apple sauce
1 cup nut butter of your choice  (You can make your own by taking 1 1/2 cups of raw nuts and 2 Tbsp of coconut oil and blending them in a food processor for 5ish min or until you get the consistency you like)
*If you want a little extra sweetness, you can add some dark chocolate chips in with the nut mixture or melt some dark chocolate and drizzle it over the bars once you have patted them into the pan

Take a pan and line it with wax paper. This recipe works best in a 9 x 13 pan. I made a larger batch of the second bar so I used an 11 x 15 pan for that one.

2014-06-08 14.26.56

In a mixing bowl, combine the oats and the nuts.  For both batches I used a combination of almonds, sunflower seeds, flax seeds and chia seeds. You can chop up the nuts into smaller pieces if you want.

2014-06-08 14.38.03 2014-06-08 14.37.11 2014-06-08 14.38.53

Then add in the apple sauce, the maple syrup or honey and the nut butter and mix well. For this batch I decided to go with honey and a mix of dark chocolate peanut butter and some almond butter. In the other batch I added in maple syrup and sunflower seed butter.

2014-06-08 14.44.03                                      2014-06-08 14.46.28

Now it is time to get your hands dirty! Dump the mixture into the pan lined with waxed paper and pat it down the entire pan is filled and it is fairly level.

2014-06-08 15.01.41

Stick these pans into the freezer and let them sit for an hour. Once an hour is up, pull them out of the pan, cut them into the sizes you would like and then wrap them up!  Yummy! Let me know in the comments below what your favorite protein bars are! These are my favorite homemade ones and I love the Luna bars in any of the lemon flavors. Post pictures on Twitter or Instagram if you do make these and tag me so I can see them! @EnglishBrkfstT

2014-06-08 21.10.36                   2014-06-08 21.37.05

2 thoughts on “Foodie Funday #1 – Delicious Homemade Protein Bars

    • cwolfram90 says:

      I hope you enjoy them! I found that if you want sweeter bars, sunflower seed butter adds just the right amount of sweetness 🙂 Let me know how they turn out!

Leave a Reply

