Finished Pages #1

Hello everyone! Today I want to do a review of the books I have read this past week. I read three books so this will be a relatively short post. Let me know in the comments below if you have read any of these! Also, I am leaving for vacation next week and need to pack some good beach reads so leave your recommendations down below as well! 🙂

A Study in Sink

A Study in Sink by Maureen Johnson – I FINALLY got around to reading this! This was a perk for donating to the Harry Potter Alliance’s Equality For The Win campaign last year. It is a fan fiction starring John Green and Benedict Cumberbatch. Hank and Katherine also make an appearance. This was super short but as with all of Maureen’s writing, I was hooked, I was laughing, and I loved it. 🙂 It’s only about 20 pages so if you want to read it, you can click the link here and make a $15 donation to the HPA to get it!

MicroEcon

The Cartoon Introduction to Economics: Volume One Microeconomics by Grady Klein and Yoram Bauman, Ph.D – I studied economics in college and I have been missing it recently. I have had this sitting on my shelves for a while and read through just as a fun, educational light read to exercise that part of my brain again. If you were ever interested in the basics of economics and wanted some humor and a very approachable way to learn it, definitely pick this up 🙂 I found it on Thriftbooks for pretty cheap (I think $6) but it is currently out of stock there. I would check Books A Million or another discount book site for it.

We Were Liars

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – This book is about an octopus who becomes a pirate captain. This book is about how to make the perfect scones. This book is about what happens when you mix all the chemicals in your bathroom and how that puff of smoke will affect the rest of your life.
Okay…I was lying. This book. Holy crap this book. You can’t really say too much about We Were Liars without giving it away but it is definitely worth the read. When I first started reading it, I wasn’t really sure where it was going but then it all came together in the end and I didn’t see it coming. I still have a massive book hangover from this book. I am going to re-read it again and I would encourage you to do so as well because once you figure out what happens, the entire story transforms and I feel like it needs a good re-read to fully appreciate how intelligent and crafty this book is. (Also if you are looking for another great E. Lockhart book to read, I highly recommend The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks)

Don’t forget to leave your reviews of these books if you have read them and your beach read recommendations in the comments below! 🙂

❤ Carolyn

9 thoughts on “Finished Pages #1

    • englishbrkfstt says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I hope you enjoy it 🙂 Most books I try to do more of an actual review, but given the nature of this book and how it plays out…it’s hard to do that without spoilers.Let me know what you think of it!

  1. What?! I’ve never heard of anything like your first pick. That is so neat! I’m a total Benedict fan, so I’m going to have to read that one.

  2. I’ve heard good things about “We Were Liars,” but I have yet to read it! Also, I follow Maureen Johnson on Twitter, but I’ve actually–gasp–never read anything of hers! This fan fiction sounds pretty entertaining.

    • englishbrkfstt says:

      We Were Liars – definitely better when you reread it 🙂
      Maureen Johnson – I highly recommend her 13 Little Blue Envelopes duology and her Shades of London series!

Leave a Reply

