Weekly Book Review!

Hello everyone! I am coming to you today from Cape Cod! Oh vacation, how desperately I needed you 🙂 I wanted to give you guys a quick book review of all the books I read this past week. Next week I’ll show you all of the books that I brought with me on vacation.

I read five books this past week (including one I listened to on the way here).

The Selection

The Selection (The Selection #1) by Kiera Cass
Goodreads rating – 4.14 (link here)
My rating – 8 out of 10
Genre – Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance
I actually read the first two books in this series at the beginning of the year, but wanted to reread them because the final installment was released. America Singer is a girl who has been selected to go on a Bachelor-style competition to potentially marry the Prince of Illea. Unfortunately, her heart is spoken for so when she initially meets the Prince, she expresses that she just wants to be friends. But with the trials of the Selection and outside forces, this book is romance-centered but with plenty of action and comedy to keep me interested 🙂 I highly recommend this series if you are looking for a some romance with lots of dystopian elements.

The Elite

The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass
Goodreads rating – 3.99 (link here)
My rating – 8 out of 10
Genre – Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance
I don’t want to spoil anything if you haven’t read the series and plan on reading it but I really enjoyed the character development in this book and the plot twists. There is love, heartbreak, loss, and so many wonderful scenes that make me love this series. Some middle books can make it seem like the author is just dragging out the plot, but Kiera does a great job of keeping all of the action and craziness of the Selection fresh and interesting.

The One

The One (The Selection #3) by Kiera Cass
Goodreads rating – 4.26 (link here)
My rating – 6 out of 10
Genre – Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance
I was so excited to finally read this book! It is the final installment in The Selection series. Again, I don’t want to spoil anything if you haven’t read the series so I will just say that I was pleased with about 85% of the book but I am still having trouble with the ending. It’s not that I don’t like it, it’s more I’m not really sure I believe that what happened is what the characters would actually do in my head. If you have read this book or end up reading the series, please let me know your thoughts about the ending in the comments below.

Fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Powell
Goodreads rating – 4.22 (link here)
My rating – 7 out of 10
Genre – Young Adult, Romance
This book took a little while for me to get into. There were a fair amount of details that needed to be laid out for the rest of the book to blossom into the delightful read that it became. Cath is a girl who is just starting college who is socially awkward. She is a fangirl and uses fanfiction as an escape from real life. This story follows her through her first year at college and meeting new people, family issues, first romance, and all of the challenges of being pushed out of your comfort zone. I really enjoyed how the book turned out and love Rainbow Powell’s work! If you find yourself kind of struggling with the beginning of this book, push through. It is definitely worth it!

Me Talk Pretty One Day

Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris
Goodreads rating – 3.94 (link here)
My rating – 6 out of 10
Genre – Non-fiction, Humor, Memoir
This is the second book I have read by David Sedaris and I enjoyed a decent portion of it. I actually listened to this book because the past couple of years I can’t read in the car like I used to (SO FRUSTRATING). If you haven’t read a book by David, he writes short essays talking about different parts of his life and most are hilarious bits of nostalgia. There were some essays in this one that I just didn’t really understand or find entertaining, but then again, I feel like his works translates better when you are actually reading it rather than listening to the words. I really enjoyed reading Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls. Have you read any of his other books? Which ones have you enjoyed?

6 thoughts on “Weekly Book Review!

  1. Rainbow Rowell is one of my newest favorite authors. “Fangirl” is the only book of hers that I haven’t read. I just finished “Landline” over the weekend, though, and really enjoyed it! (“Attachments” is still my favorite, however.) The YA novels sounds interesting. YA and middle grade books are actually my favorites, and after spending too much time on a Bill Bryson book, I jumped back into my favorite genres. 🙂

    • englishbrkfstt says:

      Oo which Bill Bryson book? I really enjoy his books!
      I haven’t read Landline or Attachments but they are high on my TBR 🙂

Leave a comment