A Rainbow of Recommendations

Hello everyone! A couple of days ago I told you about the BookTube-a-thon challenge. During the challenge, there were several video challenges as well that participants could submit for prizes. One of them was create a rainbow of your favorite books! I have tweaked this slightly and turned it into a rainbow of books that I recommend for everyone to read!

Rainbow of Recommendations

RED – Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling – This book is really representing the entire Harry Potter series. This series is the book that made me really dive into reading and opened my eyes to the online communities that can surround books! The hours I spent reading fan fiction, trading theories with friends about what would happen in the next books and the parties we had before the movies came outย made this whole world and the community come alive. The books themselves are brimming with wild adventures, mischief, and a magical school teaming with all kinds of things to explore!
Goodreads Series rating – 4.44 out of 5 (link here)

ORANGE – Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – I reviewed this book in this post here. I am currently listening to the audio book which I suppose gives you a clue about how much I freaking love this book ๐Ÿ™‚ Sci-fi, dystopian novel regarding a high-stakes scavenger hunt set partially in a virtual world? Still possibly my favorite book from this year.
Goodreads rating – 4.30 out of 5 (link here)

YELLOW – The Book of (Even More) Awesome by Neil Pasricha – My friend Meg gave me this book while we were studying abroad and it still makes me smile every time I read it. The book has short entries regarding the little things that make life awesome! Meg also wrote in some notes and awesome things from our time abroad. This book is pretty special and a great thing to read if you ever need cheering up.
Goodreads rating – 4.02 out of 5 (link here)

GREEN – The Economic Naturalist by Robert Frank – I can say, without a doubt, that this book is the reason why I became interested in economics. I randomly picked this book up at Ollie’s in either my sophomore or junior year of high school. The subtitle on this book is In Search of Explanations for Everyday Enigmas. It does just that! The chapter titles reveal all of the different topics that this book covers: The Economics of Product Design, Supply and Demand in Action, The Economics of Discount Pricing, The Myth of Ownership, Psychology Meets Economics, etc. This book may sound pretty unapproachable but it is written for the everyday reader and answers some questions you didn’t even know you wanted to ask!
Goodreads rating – 3.38 out of 5 (link here)

BLUE – The Fault in our Stars by John Green – Break out the tissues because you will most likely cry. I can count on one hand the number of books that have actually made me shed tears, and TFIOS is definitely on that list. I don’t know how John Green does it but this is more than a cancer book, more than a YA book, more than a romance book. This book is important.
Goodreads rating – 4.46 out of 5 (link here)

PURPLE – The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson – This book actually stands for the Shades of London series with the first book being The Name of the Star. This series is about Rory, an American girl who transfers to a boarding school in London for what would be her senior year in high school. Right as she arrives, the first of a string of Jack the Ripper-style murders occurs and she becomes and integral part of the investigation due to some special powers that she didn’t know she had. ย I am currently rereading the series and the third book, The Shadow Cabinet, is due to come out next year!
Goodreads Series rating – 3.89 out of 5 (link here)

Let me know in the comments below if you have made a similar post or what books you would recommend!! ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “A Rainbow of Recommendations

Leave a Reply

