Book Review – Nowhere to Turn by Lynette Eason

*peeks out from behind the curtain* Hi everyone! Sorry it has been ages since my last post. August turned into a bit of a blackhole between work and illness. But I am back now! Kicking things off with a review of a book that was sent to me for honest review from  Baker Group Publishing.

Nowhere to Turn

DESCRIPTION (No spoilers):
The day Danielle Harding takes her 11-year-old son, Simon, and flees from her abusive husband, is the same day Kurt Harding dies. A relieved Dani believes she and her son are finally safe–but in reality, the danger has just begun. When Kurt was alive, he took something important to a mysterious person. That person wants the item back and believes Dani now has it. As she and her son run for their lives, they have nowhere to turn, until she hires Adam Buchanan of Operation Refuge and goes into hiding. Unfortunately, she won’t be able to hide for long . . .

RATING – 1 out of 5 stars

REVIEW:
I just can’t seem to get into this book. I gave it the 100 page test but I just find myself smacking the book against my head and not really liking the characters. There is so much going on in this book that I found myself getting more and more annoyed with each plot twist rather than gripping the book and wanting to continue on. The main character Dani is likable enough and I do want to see her get safely out of the hell hole that is her life, but there is Stuart, her scary, stalker brother-in-law and he is one of main reasons why I can’t seem to enjoy this book. I understand that he is the main “villain” right now but I read more about him and his plan and it makes me not want to read anymore because I just get frustrated and annoyed with him. Is Stuart also the mysterious individual that Kurt took something important from? I don’t know…that section of the plot has yet to really open up. This mystery thriller is still stuck in the RUN AWAY phase and I have lost interest in waiting for it to turn into the FIGURE IT OUT phase.

Leave a Reply

